Please or Register to create posts and topics.

Referees

PreviousPage 2 of 2

Danny Noonan stinks. Fellow caddy D'Annunzio.

coachswen and Viper have reacted to this post.
coachswenViper

To improve consistency for officials you need:

Mentoring programs for new and developing officials (all officials develop at different levels, put officials in situations where the can succeed)

A system of video review where officials can view and discuss actions or calls and come to a consensus on how the call should be made

Create an environment where coaches and officials can have mututal respect for one another.

-I have been on both sides of this fence and I know that I was a bear as a coach trying to get the call. As I got older, I changed my perspective.

-Having also been on the whistle, I know that coaches are going to fight for their athletes, but that does not give you the right to berate an official. Be Professional!                      Sometimes you are better of to bite your tongue and just let the call go. Remember there is the intent to a rule and there is the spirit to a rule.

-Regardless of your position in a wrestling match, there is going to be REF view, there is going to be Coach view, there is going to be Fan view, and there is going to be                 Parent view. Referee calls are correct approximately 99% of the time. Unfortunately, the 1% that are the ones that get most of  the attention!

We need more officials in our sport! Give it a try, it really is a positive experience in most instances. You are giving back to the sport, you generate a bit of income, and you will make partnerships that will last a lifetime in the greatest sport!

Jrocket, Brock Besler and Beau Voegeli have reacted to this post.
JrocketBrock BeslerBeau Voegeli